Literacy*AmeriCorps Make a Donation

Mary Yardumian Society

The Mary Yardumian Society, which is named for our founder, recognizes those individuals who take a leadership role in the success of Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council’s students. Annual gifts of $1,000 or more bring membership in this special society.  Members receive enhanced recognition opportunities, invitations to appreciation events and special communications about our students.

Your gift may be made by cash, check, credit card, or stock in a single payment or in multiple payments by check or through our Sustaining Success Gift Plan (automatic monthly or quarterly gifts). You may also choose to make your gift via United Way of Allegheny County’s Contributor Choice program using agency code #252. 

Membership in the Mary Yardumian Society is based on cumulative gifts received during our fiscal year of July 1st to June 30th. We ask that your gift be unrestricted so that GPLC may support the most urgent program needs at the time of your donation. 

To become a member, or for further information about the Mary Yardumian Society, please contact  Maria Polinsky, Director of Development, at 412-393-7631.

Mary Yardumian Society Members


Donald and Mary Block
Hugh and Eliza Nevin
Drs. Philip and Susan Smith
Patricia O. Smith


Theresa Andrews and Thomas Kondrat
Ms. Liz Witzke Baum
The Burke Family
Mr. Robert J. Cooper
Martin and Mary Ellen Fritz
Stan and Patti Hasselbusch
Mr. and Mrs. W. Thomas McGough, Jr.


Ms. Ritchie M. Battle
Phil and Karen Bolden
Wayne and Regina Desbrow
Maura Farrell and Lawrence Feick
Mr. Richard Heiser
Jackie Kalocay Hogg
Jayanne Newcaster Matthis
Dr. Irene E. McGee
John and Peggy O’Rourke
Mr. Gary L. Singery
Paul and Susan Smocer
Ms. Kathleen M. Sullivan
Mr. Sunthar Tharmalingam

$1,000 - $2,499

Ms. Karen A. Barringer
Rev. Christopher and Dr. Filitsa Bender
Mrs. Ellie K. Bernstein
Mr. and Mrs. Ray Betler
Mr. John Robinson Block
Stacy A. Brovitz
Mrs. Gibson P. Buchanan
Danell Cooper
Ron and Kim Deceder
Mr. Edward W. Denton
Nanette M. Denton
Mr. Eric Ellsworth
Ms. Normandie Fulson
Ms. Mary C. Gabriel
Ms. Stephanie Green
Drs. Maria and Frank Guyette
Mr. Samuel H. Johnson
Mrs. Shruti Kakar and
Mr. Srikanth Jonnalagadda
Mr. Mitchell Keefer
Barry and Mary Kukovich
Ms. Louise C. Lehner
George and Karen Manos
Ms. Karen J. Maresch
Will and Karen Martin
Ms. Molly Rust Montgomery
Mr. and Mrs. Paul O’Neill, Sr.
Mr. Siddharth Pant
Mrs. Beth Powers
Ms. Mary Richter
Dr. Merrilee H. Salmon
Ms. Catherine M. Serventi and
Mr. Eugene T. Wilson
Steve Sokoloski
John P. and Elizabeth L. Surma
Ms. Susanne J. Wagner
Mr. and Mrs. R. John Wean, III